Corporate Governance

Caterpillar’s governance structure provides leadership, accountability and transparency to management of the company and its businesses. Our corporate governance framework serves the interests of shareholders with the highest standards of responsibility, integrity and commitment to enhance shareholder value over the long-term. These standards are developed and implemented by our Board of Directors and the Executive Office, who oversee the company’s performance and governance policies. Learn more at

Board of Directors

Kelly Ayotte
Former U.S. Senator and
Former Attorney General
of New Hampshire

David Calhoun
Senior Managing Director
The Blackstone Group;
Independent Chairman
of the Caterpillar Board

Daniel Dickinson
Managing Partner
HCI Equity Partners

Juan Gallardo
Former CEO
Organización Cultiba

Dennis Muilenburg
Chairman, President
and CEO
The Boeing Company

William Osborn
Former Chairman and CEO
Northern Trust Corporation

Debra Reed
Chairman and CEO
Sempra Energy

Edward Rust, Jr.
Former Chairman and CEO
State Farm Mutual
Automobile Insurance

Susan Schwab
University of Maryland
School of Public Policy

Jim Umpleby
Chief Executive Officer
Caterpillar Inc.

Miles White
Chairman and CEO
Abbott Laboratories

Rayford Wilkins, Jr.
Former CEO
Diversified Businesses
AT&T Inc.


Chief Executive Officer
Jim Umpleby

Group Presidents
Robert Charter*
Bob De Lange
Denise Johnson
Thomas Pellette
Ramin Younessi**

Group President &
Chief Financial Officer
Bradley Halverson*

General Counsel and
Corporate Secretary
Suzette Long

Chief Human
Resources Officer
Cheryl Johnson

Senior Vice President
William Ainsworth

Vice Presidents

Thomas Bluth
Wai Man (Raymond) Chan
Qihua Chen
Joseph Creed
Anthony Fassino
Thomas Frake
Damien Giraud
Frederic Istas
Kathryn Karol
Zachary Kauk

Philip Kelliher
Pablo Koziner
Julie Lagacy
Nigel Lewis
Jean Savage
Christopher Snodgrass
Tana Utley
David Walton
Karl Weiss

Chief Accounting Officer
Jananne Copeland

Corporate Controller
Kyle Epley

Corporate Treasurer
Richard Moore

Chief Audit Officer
Jill Daugherty

Chief Compliance Officer
Michael McGuire

Assistant Treasurer
Chad Withers

Assistant Secretary
Chad Wiener

Assistant Secretary
Joni Funk

  • As of April 1, 2018
  • *Retiring 2018
  • **As of June 1, 2018